Scriptapalooza Kicks Off Its Eleventh Annual Screenwriting Competition

LOS ANGELES, CA – Scriptapalooza, Inc. is currently accepting submissions for its eleventh annual Scriptapalooza Screenwriting Competition. Script submissions for the reputable competition are read by over 80 top production companies and literary agencies. The first place winner, chosen by Scriptapalooza, receives a $10,000 grand prize. In addition, the Scriptapalooza staff will promote the semifinalists and finalists for a full year after the winners are announced.

With the participation of production companies such as Disney, Miramax, Big Light, Lawrence Mark and Bender-Spink, among others, Scriptapalooza offers what even the largest grand prize could never buy: a guarantee that an “unsolicited” script will be read by leading Hollywood decision-makers. In many cases, the Scriptapalooza scripts are optioned or even bought outright by enthusiastic production companies.

“Now in its eleventh year, we have an unsurpassed track record: over 30 scripts optioned, many scripts sold, two Lifetime movies made, even Emmy winners, and the list goes on,” says Mark Andrushko, president and co-founder of Scriptapalooza. “I started this competition knowing that although everyone has a story to tell, there isn’t always someone listening. I’m delighted Scriptapalooza has helped talented storytellers get heard by the most respected and influential people in Hollywood.”

“Scriptapalooza is the greatest thing ever,” says Colin O’Reilly, First Entertainment. “When scouting for new material, they are the first place I look.”

Aditya Ezhuthachan, Palomar Pictures, adds, “Scriptapalooza is one of the few ways a writer without connections can get a script on my desk.”

Roger Gelber, a third place winner who recently sold his script as a result of the competition, says, “My experience with Scriptapalooza has been phenomenal. Not only did I get a great manager, but I was able to sell my script and begin my writing career, too.”

Please visit for an application and additional submission details.
Deadlines are as follows:

“early bird” deadline is January 7 – (application fee $40)
regular deadline is March 5 – (application fee $45)
final deadline is April 15 – (application fee $50)

About Scriptapalooza, Inc.
The Scriptapalooza Screenwriting Competition was founded in 1998 with the goal of discovering promising writers and creating opportunities for them in the fiercely competitive entertainment industry. Each year, dozens of production companies and literary representatives sign on to read the participating scripts, resulting in many being optioned or bought outright. The first place winner receives $10,000, and Scriptapalooza promotes the semifinalists and finalists for a full year. Scriptapalooza, Inc., along with its divisions, is widely regarded by writers, producers and agents alike as the most influential and successful competition company of its kind. Divisions include Scriptapalooza Television Writing Competition and Scriptapalooza Coverage Professional Script Analysis. For more information, please visit

Post Media Link